Yuja Wang and the Brahms Piano Concertos

Yannick Nézet-Séguin - Conductor

Yuja Wang - Piano


Brahms - Piano Concerto No. 1

INTERMISSION - Intermission

Sibelius - Symphony No. 3

Thursday, May 28, 2020

7:30 pm Verizon Hall
Brahms wrote just two piano concertos. He was 25 when he completed his youthful and vigorous First Concerto. Two decades later he composed his tremendous Second; Yannick compares the final, fourth movement to playing in heaven, surrounded by angels. The fiery Yuja Wang, Curtis Institute of Music graduate and Philadelphia favorite, returns to her second home for four performances, bringing her technical virtuosity and thoughtful depth of music-making to these two corresponding and harmonious works. Hear them both, paired with Sibelius's Symphony No. 3, a masterpiece of the Finnish national hero.
Group Tickets

Ticket orders of 10 or more save! Call 215.893.1968 or Contact Group Sales

Contact Group Sales

This Concert is a part of the following subscription packages:

Subscription Packages